Saturday, March 2, 2024

VIDEO: PHIVOLCS Cagayan de Oro Seismic Station


The current earthquake monitoring network in the Philippines consists of 29 manned stations, 30 unmanned stations and 6 volcanological observatories. The manned stations are equipped with short period seismographs, the manned stations with short and broadband seismographs, the satellite stations with short period seismographs.

An average of twenty earthquakes per day is being recorded by the Philippine Seismic Network. For the past years the Philippines experienced numerous damaging earthquakes and tsunami events.

The manned station in Malasag, Cagayan de Oro City, Northern Mindanao is headed by Engr. Marcial Labininay. The station is not so far from our house on the mountain road from the National Highway in barangay Cugman to Malasag. We were welcomed by Engeneer Labininay and he explained to us how the Seismic Station works. A great part of this station has been donated by the Japanese Government, like the satellite technic and solar technic lately and earthquake detecting sensors before.

Last time we paid a visit to the seismic station is about 10 years ago, and many changes have taken place by now through modernisation.


VIDEO (5:49) by Philippine Magazine




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *